Text Size
Thursday, May 24, 2018

DTC Minutes of Meeting - 10th April 2017

Apr 04 2017

Minutes of the Meeting of Dulverton Town Council held on Monday 10th April 2017, in the Town Hall, Dulverton, commencing at 7.00pm.

Present: Chairman/Mayor: Mr Nick Thwaites; Councillors: Mrs Judy Ernest; Mrs Christine Dubery; Mr Steve Ford; Mr Gerry Lewis; Mrs Louise Parrish; Mr Malcolm Neale; Mrs Margaret Rawle : Mrs Francis Nicholson (S.C.C.) who arrived at 8.05pm.

Deferment of Business for Comment by the Public:None.

Apologies for absence and acceptance of any reasons offered if agreed:

Cllr Mr Ian Fleming

Cllr Mr Bruce Heywood (W.S.C.)

Miss Mandy Rose. (Clerk)

Declarations of Interest:

Cllr.Nick Thwaites with regards his position as District Council Councillor

Cllr Christine Dubery with regards the Sports Field Management Committee.

Cllr Steve Ford with regard his position as members of the P.C.C.

Cllr Ernest with regards to her position as a trustee of DDYPP.

Chairman’s Comments & Meeting Management:

Cllr Thwaites thanked members for their support during his time as Chairman.


Questions for County and District Councillors:

Cllr. Francis Nicholson (S.C.C.):

Resurfacing Jury Road/Rock Inn: The issues have become part of the highway network outstanding works to be completed.

The contractors still maintain that the watering after the re-surfacing of the road had been completed caused the problems. S.C.C do not have the financial resources to pursue court proceedings, furthermore there is an issue regarding the length of time since the issue arose.

Cllr Nicholson recommended that if the problem of dust reoccurs the public are requested to keep all windows and doors closed and report any problems immediately.

20mph Feasibility Study: The Clerk is requested to confirm directly with S.C.C. regarding confirmation that option A had been selected.

Barle Enterprise Units: The problems with regards to the lighting are still ongoing.

Cllrs. Bruce Heywood and Nick Thwaites (W.S.C.):

Fly Tipping: It was reported that asbestos has been found between Hinam Cross and Beech Tree. Cllr Rawle is to inform Cllr Heywood.

Minutes of the meeting held on 13th March 2017 as circulated: were approved. Proposed by Mrs Ernest, seconded by Mrs Parrish and carried.

6165 Update of action points resulting from the last meeting: None.


6166 Accounts:

Request for approval:    


RESOLVED: That the accounts are approved. Proposed by Mr Lewis, seconded by Mr Ford       and carried.

   The Financial Statement was also presented and approved. Proposed by Mrs Dubery,               seconded by Mr Thwaites and carried.

6167 Committees:

Minutes submitted for approval:

Planning Committee Meeting

RESOLVED: To adopt as part of this meeting the minutes of the Planning Committee meetings held on 14th & 28th March 2017. Proposed by Mr Lewis, seconded by Mrs                                         Parrish and carried.    

Grounds Committee Meeting

RESOLVED: To adopt as part of this meeting the minutes of the Grounds Committee meeting held on 21st March 2017. Proposed by Mrs Ernest, seconded by Mr Neal, and carried.

   Town Management Committee Meeting

 RESOLVED: To adopt as part of this meeting the minutes of the Town Management Committee meeting held on the 28th March 2017 with an amendment regarding Hollam Drive, (Residents who raised the issue”) Proposed by Mr Thwaites, seconded by Mrs                                 Dubery, and carried.    

   6167 DDYPP

   A claim has been received for match funding amounting to £284.32 within the time scale and

     has been approved for payment.

Cllr Ernest informed members that a new Youth Worker has been appointed from the 21st      April 2017.

At the present time 20 young children between the ages of 6 -11 attend, (only 3 over the age of 11). There has to be 15 seniors for funding to be available from the S.C.C.

 It is estimated that the Youth Club can be run at a cost of £10,000 per year.

More trustees are needed to be able to keep the Youth Club running. An article has been     placed in the Exmoor News. If no one comes forward to give their support in approximately three months Cllr Ernest will have no option but to resign; which could possibly lead to the closure of the Youth Club.


   6168 Late Correspondence:

Correspondence noted by members. None.

6169 Questions for Members who have attended additional meetings:

Car parks: Cllr Lewis expressed his disappointment with regards to the meeting at W.S.C. and felt that it was a classic example of non-democracy in action.


1) That the outcome was possibly preconceived before the meeting by the Conservative members of W.S.C.

2) There was no preparation for the meeting and questions could not be answered with regards to the financial side of things.

3) Questioned if the process did not work within the law.

Members felt there was a lack of perceived support from Cllr Pugsley (W.S.C), and Cllr. Heywood (W.S.C.).

Members agreed to authorize Cllr Lewis to compose an official letter of complaint on behalf of D.T.C.

Patient Group: Cllr. Rawle attended the Exmoor Medical Centre Patient Group meeting 14th March 2017. It was reported that Dr. Trill will be leaving the practice at the end of May.

6170 Issues to be raised with permission of the Chairman:

Car Parks: It was reported that all the machines have now been adapted to accept the new £1 coinage.

Toilets: Members were informed that the locks have not been changed yet and the toilets will be closed on 24th April 2017, so electrical work can be carried out.

The Paddock: S.C.C. has agreed to implement 6 metres of yellow lines opposite the arch to ensure that access is maintained. DTC have been requested to consult with the residents affected.

Church Wall: Repairs to the Church Wall are expected to start after Easter.

Members thanked Cllr Thwaites for all his hard work over the past four years.

                                                                                                                                                                                                             Chairman …………………………………………….